Humbled


Before God Can Elevate Us We Must First Be Humble

Acts 14:15 “Friends, why are you doing this? We too are only human, like you. We are bringing you good news, telling you to turn from these worthless things to the living God, who made the heavens and the earth and the sea and everything in them.

I read Acts 14:15 before I went to sleep last night and I realized that although I can do all things through Christ Jesus I must remember to remain humble.

In this chapter of Acts, Paul and Barnabas were preaching the gospel in Lystra where Paul healed a man who was born crippled. When the crowd saw this they declared that the apostles were Gods who came to them in the form of humans and brought offerings to sacrifice to them outside the city gates.

Paul and Barnabas did not lose sight of who was allowing them to perform miracles and refused to accept the sacrifices that were being offered to them. They did not allow the people to continue believing they were gods or offer any sacrifices to them. Instead they humbled themselves before god and declared openly that the powers they possessed was not on their own accord. They gave god all the power and glory. Their devotion to god was so immense that they tore their clothes to prove to the gathering that they themselves were mere men.

I hope to pattern my own life after Paul and Barnabas. I pray that I can always remain humble in spite of the success I will have in life. I will always remember to openly proclaim that I have achieved everything through Christ and that god is in full control of my life and my destiny. I give god all the glory and honor and praise, for I know his grace is sufficient for me.

Like Paul and Barnabas we should always be mindful to not accept god’s glory as our own. Do not become so entangled in the goodness of our savior that you forget that you are nothing with out him. I encourage you to continue praising and worshiping god. Continue to walk in his favor and remain humble in receiving his blessings.

Tagged , , ,

Share your views with us

