Stinking Thinking


As a man thinks, so is he. Proverbs 23:For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.“Eat and drink!” he says to you,But his heart is not with you.

Some Sundays ago the preacher used the term “Stinking Thinking”. He was teaching us about the dangers of our negative thoughts and the impact they have in our lives as believers. Today I wish to share that message with you as encouragement in your journey with Christ.

Too many times we find ourselves saying positive things but thinking negatively about situations afterward. I don’t know about you but I am definitely guilty of such. Sometimes I begin speaking positively about situations in my life, but in the stillness of my mind I question the possibility of the seemingly impossible happening.

As believers we need to understand that our thoughts follow us. Whatever we think is just as powerful as whatever we speak and the consequences of those thoughts can be severe. Many of us can’t progress in our lives because of the the things we think about. If we constantly ponder on negative things or assess every situation negatively then we will continually focus on the negative and never open our minds and hearts to see the positive breakthrough God has in store for us.

Too many times we focus on magnifying our problems and not our God. The more we focus on our problems the bigger they become, the more we focus on our God the smaller our problems become. If we change our thoughts to ones of victory instead of defeat and our attitude to one of praise rather than complaining every chance we get, I assure you we will have a lot less to worry about and a lot more to give thanks  for.

I know you’re probably saying “it’s easy for you to say, you don’t know what I’m going through” or “Easier said than done”. I want to encourage you to make a choice to push past those thoughts and focus on the greatness of God and watch your trial turn into a testimony. God doesn’t want us to live a life filled with sorrow or defeat, his wish is for us to be prosperous and happy, but we need to make a conscious effort to step into that destiny.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I encourage you to start thinking about what you’re thinking about. Don’t just take my word for it, start seeing that negative thing changing into something positive and see what happens.

I look forward to hearing your testimony about your breakthrough once you’ve gotten rid of your “Stinking Thinking”.

God Bless You!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Stinking Thinking

  1. love the image you chose for this post by the way

    Like

  2. great post – what helped me was to ask myself that if the negative thoughts i spoke to myself were actually being spoken to me by a couple of friends I was hanging out with would I let them continue to talk to me like that? – I realised that NO of course I wouldnt, I would have to “unfriend” them so as to have a chance at a better outlook and I would choose better freinds to hang with and speak into my life – That being the case I then asked myself “why on earth, if I wouldn’t take such negativity from someone else do i take it from ME?”
    Thats when I started the action of “unfriending” the negative in my head and choosing better thoughts to hang out with instead.
    It aint an easy process BUT as you say – boy is it worth it!!!!

    Like

  3. Lady Deidre says:

    Amen! Great post! And the writing was excellent!
    God Bless You!

    Like

  4. robind333 says:

    Couldn’t agree more! Wonderful post, many, many blessings to you…Robin

    Like

Share your views with us

