DEATH: My Life In Perspective


Earlier this week on my way back to from a meeting I almost got struck down by a car. The insane driver decided to run a red light from four cars down at the same time I was crossing the street.

I looked left and right but I didn’t see him coming so I crossed; my mind going over the details of the meeting I just had and the work to be done back at the office. I was quickly snapped from my thoughts by the screams of some women and the fast approaching vehicle headed for me. In that instant my body froze and my lobs felt jelly like, I couldn’t think to say a word. I simply stood there awaiting my faith. Thankfully the driver swerved and avoided hitting me, sparing me my life.

Usually I would speak with my friend at work about everything but for some reason I didn’t say anything about my encounter. Even as I recalled the events of my day to my boyfriend when I got home I managed to remain tight lipped about this incident.

Yesterday when I got home from I got the news that a member of Evangel Temple (the church I attend) who happens to be a friend and mentor to me got hit by a car and died on his way to service.

I was mortified. I couldn’t find the words to express all the emotions I felt at that point in time. My body felt the way it did after my near incident and it took everything in me to not question God.

This morning as I type I can’t help but put my life in perspective in light of brother Dick’s tragic passing.

Recently I’ve been pulling away from God. I got comfortable with my position in the kingdom and I made no effort to push forward in my efforts to win souls for Jesus Christ. I made excuses not to pray, I chose to spend long hours reading an erotic novel instead of reading my bible, I didn’t write because I just didn’t feel like it and the list goes on.

Brother Dick was in his sixties. He had a wife, children and grandchildren. He lived his life for Christ and continued to encourage young people such as me to live for God. He had duties in church and fulfilled them humbly and happily and he never missed an opportunity to fellowship with his brethren.

Why didn’t he stop working for God? Why didn’t he get complaisant and just do the bare requirements in serving God? What gave him the drive to continue serving God all these years?

I don’t know his exact reasons. I don’t know what gave him that constant drive to do good for the kingdom of heaven but I know that even in death he’s an encouragement to me. I don’t want to scrape by as a child of God. I don’t want to let my talent and blessings go to waste and I don’t want my testimony to go unheard.

I have gotten greater encouragement to continue living for Christ and spreading the news of what he’s done and doing to the world. I am not here by chance! God has me here for a purpose and I am going to allow him to use me to fulfill his desire. While I mourn the loss of a dear dear friend I open up myself to the will of God and I humbly await further instructions.

I don’t know what God has done for you but I urge you to share your testimony with someone and offer them the encouragement they need to live a life pleasing to God.

Please share your testimony with us by emailing it to testifywithme@gmail.com I look forward to hearing from you.

God Bless You!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “DEATH: My Life In Perspective

  1. Jeramy says:

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

    • Hey Jeramy it’s cool on the off topic thing………..lol. I’m using wordpress. When I joined I actually played around with a lot of the themes before I picked one. They have hundreds to choose from and once you have the patience I’m sure you’ll fall in love with one soon enough 🙂 Hope I was able to help, feel free to ask anything else I’ll be more than willing to help out 😀

      Like

Share your views with us

