Breaking The Habit


Colossians 3: 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him…………..23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.

Sometimes breaking a habit as a believer can be a difficult thing especially when it’s a habit we’ve practiced for a long time. Tasha tells us of her experience in breaking the habit of gossiping. I hope her testimony will inspire you to do everything to the honor and glory and god and serve as encouragement to anyone who is struggling to break a bad habit.

TASHA’S TESTIMONY

Before I received Jesus into my life, I thrived in the gossiping arena! O boy- anything you needed to know-in detail- come to me! I was also the type of person who loved to talk about people and I learned the art of  finger pointing  O so well! My conversations were very rarely about anything good. I mean! Where does “good” get you really?

Need I tell you how I felt when I read this piece of scripture? “Do everything unto God…”hmm! I had to clean up my act and fast!

Thankfully, the new friends I’d made at church had already learned this lesson so there was very little chance of me getting caught up in “not so nice” conversations. I had to learn to keep my mouth shut when I had nothing good to say— O boy! You’d think I never spoke again during this time huh? [lol]Nope! I actually began to speak about good things. I began to see the good in situations and focused my energies on that instead :)

I learned that my conversations (words) had to be done in the name of Jesus, and THAT required some serious change on my part! Now- this was not a magic trick and I would be a liar if I said I haven’t been tempted [and slipped up several times] to revert to my “old ways” in various situations- but now I am most conscious of it and with the help of the Holy Spirit, I really make the effort to cut -it -out! ;)

I hope Tasha’s testimony encouraged your hearts as it did mine. We all have or have had a bad habit that we needed to stop because it did not bring glory to the kingdom of Heaven. However it is always good to know that we are not alone in our struggles and we have proof that it is possible to break the habit.

I don’t know what God has done for you but I urge you to share your testimony with someone and offer them the encouragement they need to live a life pleasing to God.

Please share your testimony with us by emailing it to testifywithme@gmail.com I look forward to hearing from you.

God Bless You!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Share your views with us

