Understanding Your Purpose


God Plan

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Accepting that God has a specific plan and purpose for our lives makes all the difference for a believer.

When we accept and understand that God is in control of our lives and our destiny we are able to feel peace regarding every single situation we face. 1 Thessalonians 5:18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. I have only now began to grasp this concept of giving thanks to God through the good AND the bad.

I recently won a huge tender on work. The value of the contract is the single largest sale that has ever been made in the organization I work for. When we were tendering for the job I prayed and asked God for favor in the situation. As you can imagine we won the tender. I couldn’t stop praising God for answering my prayer.

As God would have it less than one week after receiving the order I got some bad news. Our company was being blocked from purchasing the items needed to fulfill the order from the manufacturers. Could you imagine my disappointment? Fortunately God had already prepared my heart to deal with the possibility that I might lose valuable things in my life. (See Protection On Holy Ground)

The news that our company might lose the contract lead to a lot of meetings with my managers in which discussions took place on the ways we would inform the client that we were unable to supply. While sitting in one of those meetings I remembered that everything that happens in my life is the will of God. That was all I needed, I immediately started speaking positively about the situation and exploring the possible ways we might be able to resolve the issue.

Thankfully my boss was willing to entertain some of the ideas and went along with my suggestion to meet with the customer and discuss the issue before writing a cancellation letter. On our way to the meeting my manager expressed his anxiety and worries that things might not go well. Immediately I  told him I wasn’t worried because I spoke to God about it and although he doesn’t share my beliefs my hope helped calm him down.

After the meeting the customer agreed to give us an extension on the time we had to deliver the goods. I was elated, but God wasn’t ready to give me my breakthrough yet. When we returned to the office it seemed that every avenue we tried was blocked. The next morning my boss came to give me the results of a conversation he had with the manufacturer of the products. As you can imagine he didn’t have good news and if the bad news wasn’t enough he chose in that moment to whisper in my ear “you better watch that God that you’re praying too”.

I was furious. How dare he doubt my God? That’s when I realized God was about to show up and show off in a big way. I sat at my desk and started singing praises while doing my work. In the days to follow my boss and I kept disagreeing on whether we should present the customer with a withdrawal letter or not. After much deliberation we decided to go and speak to the head of the organization that purchased the goods and explain the situation to him.

Yet again we made our way to the clients’ office. While waiting to meet with them I said to God “Lord if you need to take this from me in order to use me or to teach me something, then let your will be done.” Almost instantly after saying those words my boss initiated a conversation that allowed me to witness to him about Christ! Can you imagine my shock? I was sitting next to the man who recently questioned the power and existence of God and was telling him about the joy and peace I have in serving him. I was elated!

That’s when I realized what God was doing. He didn’t place me in that situation because he didn’t love me he did it because he needed a seed to be planted and he knew hindering the contract was the only way to get that done. While sharing the gospel with my boss I felt a peace unlike any other. I felt joy in knowing that God was able to use me to do good for his kingdom. At that point I knew losing the contract would not bother me because God used me to fulfill a purpose.

Things went better than I could have imagined. Currently our company has been made the authorized distributor for that product in the entire Caribbean!!

I don’t believe things would have turned out the way they did if I had chosen to murmur and complain at the sight of trouble rather than giving God praise. It was only because I chose to accept and act upon God’s word and trust his will for my life that he was able to use me for the furtherance of his kingdom and bless me along the way.

God wants to use all of us to share the good news about him to others. He wants us to be each other’s blessing and he wants men and women he can depend on to trust him completely. However we need to understand that our attitude toward situations is the key factor in determining our usability. We need to trust God completely, apply his word to our lives by giving thanks always and understanding that his will is being done in our lives he will be able to work in and through us.

Be sure to share your testimony with us at testifywithme@gmail.com or post it on our wall on  facebook

God Bless You!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Understanding Your Purpose

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

Share your views with us

