Holy Spirit Access


HS

John 14:26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

I had the most remarkable encounter with the Holy Spirit this weekend. Youth For Christ Trinidad and Tobago, recently launched a competition seeking to find young ministers in the body of Christ. I saw the poster on our Church’s notice board and decided I’d enter in the short sermon category.

The theme for the competition is “Jesus is coming soon, are you ready?”. The contestants were required to interpret the theme and share their interpretations through song, dance, monologues or short sermons.

I’ve never delivered a sermon before. I’ve spoken to others about the bible and discussed my views on scriptures but I never had to present those views to a large crowd. As you can imagine I did a lot of preparation in my attempt to use the right scriptures and analogies to build an effective message  within a five minute time frame.

The morning of the competition I continuously practiced what I would say and how I would say it. I timed myself and ensured I was as ready as humanly possible to represent the kingdom. In my heart I kept asking the Holy Spirit to manifest itself in my preaching and help me to deliver the sermon. I continued to pray that prayer all day, even while waiting for my time to present.

When the time arrived for me to minister I felt a peace and a difference. I walked unto the altar and started to deliver an enthused message about accepting Jesus Christ as lord and savior before his return. While delivering the sermon I realized that what I was saying and the illustrations I was using wasn’t what I practiced the morning before. I was using the knowledge I had from reading the bible scriptures but I was connecting with the audience in a way I never imagined possible.

As I type I remember Jesus speaking to his disciples about the end times and instructing them not to worry about what to say when brought before the rulers for preaching the gospel.

Mark 13:11 Whenever you are arrested and brought to trial, do not worry beforehand about what to say. Just say whatever is given you at the time, for it is not you speaking, but the Holy Spirit.

I know what you’re thinking “But you weren’t defending yourself, you were sharing the word….” and you’re right, but in the same way the Holy Spirit helps us speak in defending the gospel it also helps us deliver the word of God.

I spoke my pastor on Sunday after service and told him my experience and he confirmed my thoughts by telling me the same thing happens to him a lot of times when he’s delivering the gospel.

I can ‘t begin to tell you how fascinated, excited and thankful I am. God keeps showing up and proving his word true to me and I give him all honor and glory for being the amazing God that he is.

Share a testimony with us – testifywithme@gmail.com or on facebook

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Holy Spirit Access

  1. […] think money, food or clothes is what they need. One of my readers commented on a blog I wrote (Holy Spirit Access) some time aback and testifies that sometimes the less fortunate really just need someone who loves […]

    Like

  2. what a precious experience…. i have not had anything similar to that but i did have an experience once that really blessed me and showed me the truth of the phrase – lift me up and i will draw all men to me – (badly paraphrased) – anyway – in my twenties I was at a large and bustling train station in London – it was my first visit to the metropolis as I was a small town girl – it was a bit overwhelming – soooo many people bustling about busy with their day – then a scraggy, smelly old man approached me and asked for some change – I dont know what came over me – this was my first encounter with a homeless beggar – I said “yes i’ll give you some money if you will let me pray with you”, much to the embarrasment of the friend I was with lol – he said “okay” I laid my hand on his dirty head and prayed for him – I have no idea what i said. I then gave him some change and off he went. My friend and I then went into a cafe on the station concourse – we were sitting there having a coffee when this same begger appeared but this time with 5 other old beggars just like him. Much to the dismay of the other coffee drinkers they approached my table and the old guy said “my friends would like you to pray for them too” I sort of chuckled inside thinking that it was not prayer they wanted but money – I was wrong, because they all bowed their heads as i said a prayer of blessing for them, thanking God for how much he loved these me. when I was done I expected the hands to come out for money but instead they just looked at me and and said “thank you” and left!!!
    I still wonder what became of them !!!!

    Like

  3. awftt says:

    Reblogged this on Arise Woman and commented:
    A powerful piece. Love the way God moves and works.

    Like

  4. […] In a recent post I shared how the competition caused me to have a remarkable experience with the Holy Spirit and increased my faith in God’s ability to speak through us. ( read that post here; Holy Spirit Access) […]

    Like

Share your views with us

