Shifting Focus


Proverbs 3: 5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding;In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

Sometimes we get so consumed by what we want for our lives that we shift our focus from praising God to only seeking answers to our problems. I don’t know about you but I have fallen into that trap far too often and every time God shows me that I need to trust him and his process in giving me the answers I seek. The following testimony is one given by a young woman who sought comfort in relationships but didn’t gain peace until she surrendered to God and waited on him to send her the right companion. I hope it blesses your heart.

Her Testimony

For so long I’ve spent time giving so much in relationships I lost sight of my dreams and goals. Most of my relationships were dead-end relationships and made me feel used, unappreciated and unloved. Something was wrong and so I decided to pray and spend more time in the presence of the Lord. Then he showed me an epiphany. He showed me myself because I asked. In that came my answer. I saw what was required of me. I had too many internal issues and unrealistic expectations of others, when in all truthfulness, I had to lean more on, trust more in and depend more on the Lord. I had to work on my patience and do some personal cleansing with his help off course. In doing so, I had to cut off some people and an old pessimistic mentality. This purge even cost me a relationship which I became “adickted” to. Yes I misspelled it purposely. In doing this and after crying, trying, praying and pouring out my heart to God be freed, my focus was shifted and my patience was growing gracefully. No longer was I focusing on finding the right man, but trusted God to allow him to find me. Then, I met a man who has loved me beyond it all. He cherishes, adores and treats me like a queen. He knows what I need when I need it. If I think it, he delivers before I can speak on it. We communicate so well. I can’t help but praise and thank the Lord. He always knows what’s best at the right time.

When we keep our eyes on him, he will releases his power, blessings, answers and whatever we need in due season.

Acts 2:2 And suddenly there came a sound from heaven , as of a mighty rushing wind and it filled the whole house and it filled the whole house where they were sitting;

ministered to me tremendously. As soon the disciples focus shifted and they were able to worship and wait on the Lord, he came SUDDENLY, when they lease expected and FILLED the room with his glory. In like manner when we focus on him, he will FILL our lives with his glory in the most appropriate form and time. Maybe you are praying for something and it seems as if the answers are taking years to come. Don’t lose heart. Trust the hands of God. Patience; It is Realizing. In the mean time, worship the Lord and confuse the enemy. Yes. Trade places with him. Confused? When we focus on answers we are not receiving, the enemy starts playing with our minds, which confuses us but when we praise in the midst of the haze, we confuse the enemy and flees.

Do you have a testimony of how you trusted God and he answered your prayers?  Please share it with us at testifywithme@gmail.com or on Testimonies of his Goodness on facebook

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Shifting Focus

  1. This was so encouraging. Thank you!

    Like

Share your views with us

