Judge Not


Matthew 7 “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you. And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?

This week I had one of the most humbling experiences in my life. My friends and I were at a gathering on Sunday and while there we began discussing what it means to live a Christian lifestyle. All of us in the conversation are born again believers and have fell at some point in time in our walk with God.  Thankfully God has restored us and is working through us for his kingdom.

As we sat there and discussed the conversation got a bit heated as we all had different views regarding what being a Christian entailed and how we should move forward after sinning. I think this is a good place to say that I have a very, very strong personality and can come across aggressive when speaking about things I’m passionate about *shame face*.

My views as a Christian is, once you accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior you should study his word and adjust your life to walk in accordance to his will. I believe that once you’ve sinned and that sin is one which can cause your brother or sister to fall or can affect your ministry, you should be humble enough to step down from ministry and work on rekindling your relationship with God before ministering again. (This is MY view)

Some of my friends disagreed with my concept as they believe God’s grace is sufficient and once you confess your sin ask for forgiveness then you can continue in your ministry without having to step down. Now I know this is a controversial topic and it might be one that persons will disagree on and that’s fine, but when disagreement turns in to judgement that’s where the problem lies.

Once I got home on Sunday I started replaying the conversation in my head and that was when I began to get angry about some of the views expressed. Now of course this was just where the enemy needed me to be to transform that anger into judgement. I began to judge one of my friends because she didn’t share the same views I did and I believed she was too “haughty” about her sin and how she was dealing with it. During this week I had to contact my friend and ask her forgiveness because I realized I was being judgmental and I was wrong.

Today I am soooooooooo thankful for the Holy Spirit’s conviction. While praying about the situation God ministered to me. He took me to Psalm 103: 8 The Lord is merciful and gracious,Slow to anger, and abounding in mercy. If we are God’s children and we are to be like Christ then we need to understand that just as God is merciful to us when we fall he expects us to show kindness and mercy to our brothers and sisters when they make mistakes as well. If we strive to be like Christ then we must show him in ALL our actions. We must learn to be patient, kind, loving and yes forgiving and merciful.

The word of God says the measure by which we judge others will be the measure by which we are judged. I felt so terrible once I came to this realization. How could I judge someone else and expect them never to fall when Christ has made provisions for when I fall? Why is it so easy to judge others when they don’t uphold a standard that I set? How is it so easy for us to see others’ faults while not focusing on fixing my own?

I now understand that although I am passionate about God and the things of God I need to be mindful when listening to others. If I disagree with someone that doesn’t mean any of us are wrong it just means I need to ask God for wisdom with regard to the situation and wait on the Holy Spirit to bring revelation to me.

I wish never to judge another person as long as I live and I know I may fall into judgement sometimes but I will always try not to and if I do I will ask for forgiveness from my father in heaven and that individual. I am going focus on heavenly things and try to be more like Christ; IN EVERY ASPECT of my life.  I am thankful that God has given us his Holy Spirit who helps us right our wrongs through conviction.

I am truly humbled by my experience and I encourage you to be mindful about how you analyze situations before you suffer the same fate as me.

James 1:19 So then,my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath;

God Bless You!!!

Tagged , , , , ,

Share your views with us

