Atmosphere of Praise


Psalm 100 Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands.Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing.Know ye that the Lord he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

The past couple of weeks every time I think about God I feel this joy deep down inside. It’s almost like a wave of happiness overtakes me and all I can do is smile as tears brim my eyes. I have come to realize that I serve a truly amazing God who is above and beyond anything I can ever imagine.

When I look back at my life and all the trials and struggles I have been through, I realize that God has been with me all the time. He cared for, loved and provided for my family and I in our times of need. Needless to say these were the days when I didn’t pay any attention to him and I certainly wasn’t trying to live according to his word. Imagine that! Even when I chose not to acknowledge God he chose to love me still.

I grew up in a very poor family, it was seven of us including my parents and it was very tough for my parents to make ends meet. I know what it’s like to wake up and have no food to eat. I’ve lived through days of watching my mother cry because she didn’t know how she was going to get books or money to send us to school. I didn’t know what it was like to have new clothes or shoes until I got my first job when I was sixteen.I remember jumping up and celebrating with my brothers and sisters one Christmas Eve night when a stranger dropped off a hamper for us;unknowing to him that hamper answered our prayers for food to cook on Christmas Day. Toys were a luxury we would get at Sunday School treats and being able to have a snack and not have to share was something that only happened in my imagination.

Life was hard, but looking back now I see that God was with us every single step of the way. He always met us at the point of our need. At those moments when it seemed there was no hope, something would happen or someone would come as the answer to our prayers. God is so full of love and grace and understanding that I can never go back to the days of not living for him. Just knowing that he has always had my best interest at hand has given me this desire to continue preaching his word and sharing the good news of his love. I wish only for more and more of sweet Jesus.

Today as I sit at my desk typing I feel grateful that God chose me. I’m happy that he’s a God of love and peace and understanding. My heart is full because I realize that he is not like man and his intentions for me are only good. I long only to be in his presence more and more and to praise him with every fiber of my being.

Today I say “Thank you God”. Not for anything you’ve given to me and not because of anything you intend to do for me, but simply because you are God and you died for me even while I was still a sinner.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Atmosphere of Praise

Share your views with us

