Real Talk – Commitment Brings Control


Give it to God

II Timothy 1:12 For this reason I also suffer these things; nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. NKJV

As I sit and reflect on the month gone, God’s spirit takes me back to the beginning of this month when Pastor Ali spoke to the church on the importance of letting God be in control. In His sermon Pastor asked the church if God is in control regardless of how we live. Of course the answer to that question was NO! You see because God has given us free will, His intervention on matters in our lives is determined by our willingness for Him to intervene. Therefore if our lives do not reflect or communicate as much to God then He cannot keep those things which we have held on to and refuse to put in His care.

As the month progressed it was revealed that we can interpret the above scripture two ways. Firstly God cannot control what we don’t commit to Him. There are so many battles the church face because we do not commit situations, tribulations, cares, worries and other such things into God’s care. We say that we love God and we trust His will, but we continue to try and live this life based on our own strength and understanding.

Secondly we see that whatever we commit to God He is able to keep. God’s word is true and He is faithful to what word, therefore we can rely on Him to stand true to it.  I have always been career motivated and so in the past I would constantly be battling with ways to advance my career in a particular direction. Earlier last year, when I began my relationship with Christ, I committed my job to God’s care and the rewards and peace of that commitment is simply amazing (you can ask me for details).

I know what you’re probably saying, “Keela you don’t understand. You don’t know how hard it is to let go of the things I’m dealing with. You have no idea what my battle entails”.  You’re probably right, I might not understand your particular situation but I do understand this; God’s word is true and if the bible says He is able to keep what we commit to Him then He really is able to do it. It’s up to us to trust His word and His love and give everything over to Him so He can have His way with it.

God doesn’t ask us to do anything without telling us how to do it. So, here’s how to start. Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  If we are to find strength to commit things in our lives to God we first have to take our eyes off of those things and look toward Him. In so doing we will learn to trust His desire for our lives and we will begin to understand His true capabilities in keeping everything we commit to Him. So don’t take my word for it, try the remedy in Matthew 6:33 and begin to see what great things God will do with those things you commit to Him.

I hope you all have a blessed month.

Keela!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Real Talk – Commitment Brings Control

  1. […] of His Goodness, got me to thinking about it differently, though.  In a post last month, Real Talk – Commitment Brings Control, Keela discusses this verse from the angle of whether we are committing our problems into God’s […]

    Like

Share your views with us

