Firstly God


right-priorities

Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

As 2014 approaches and I take time out to reflect, I find myself pondering the concept of truly putting God first. When I was younger I perceived that the only persons indebted to God completely were the leaders and elders of the church. I never saw the need for me to place Him first in my life until I “was of age” and because of that God was never at the forefront of anything in my life.

Matthew 6:33 proved to me how very wrong my perception was. In this passage God gives an instruction to Seek Him First and he doesn’t categorize that request. I’ve realized that I didn’t always put God first this past year. So many times God tried to make an appointment with me and because of MY SCHEDULE I put that meeting off. Maybe you can relate to what I’m saying. Sometimes I’m so caught up in achieving goals I’ve set out for the day, week or month that I don’t allow God to change my plans to suit His. I hear him calling me to more prayer or longer hours in His word, but because these things would mess up my agenda I ignore the tugging of my heart and only give to God what I deem sufficient to keep me in His presence.  So many times I neglected to shift an appointment to attend prayer services or other things pertaining to God and somewhere along the way I only did God’s will when it was convenient to me.

In my reflection of me and my relationship with God in 2013, while I have had some GREAT experiences with my Savior, I am thankful for His mercy and grace. I am thankful that although I don’t always get it right or surrender my all to Him he still showers me with His blessings and gives His angels charge over me. I realize that God’s hand is always upon me, even in my disobedience and I can’t help but think of the wondrous encounters I might have missed out on because I let Him play second fiddle in my life.

No one is too old or too young to serve God in spirit and in truth. There is nothing we could have done that could separate us from the love of Christ and he doesn’t expect leaders and elders only to Seek Him First. God wants to release His blessings on ALL His people but the only way to truly enjoy these blessings and see them in abundance is to make Him a priority in our lives.  God’s desires and promises to us are vast and He wants to fulfill each of these in the life of every believer. However, we must satisfy the criteria set by Him if we wish to stand firmly on His promises

I challenge you to join with me as we embrace the New Year, to take God at His word and Seek Him FIRST. I guarantee, you will see His promises fulfilled in your life as walk in the abundance and overflow of His blessings.

Have a blessed 2014 everyone!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Firstly God

  1. I agree with you absolutely! You have an excellent idea, too. In fact, I intend to make 2014 A Year of Being Kind. (365 days of service) I am being led to serve~! God willing, I am going to try to find some way of doing service each and every day.

    Let’s be kind to others and seek God together!
    @chaplaineliza
    http://www.matterofprayer.net

    Like

    • I agree, it really is important to surrender to God’s call for our lives and answer the call when it is made. As you embark on your journey of kindness through Christ Jesus I pray that he will be at the center of everything and the Leader of your mission.

      God bless you richly my sister!

      Like

Share your views with us

