Praying Amiss; When you don’t realize God’s already answered you


why-doesnt-god-answer-my-prayer1

Matthew 7:7-8 Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.

Can you imagine receiving a brand new Ferrari as a gift, driving that new Ferrari and enjoying the perks of it without knowing that you are in fact driving a Ferrari? Furthermore imagine constantly begging the person who got you the Ferrari to upgrade you to a Ferrari although they’ve given it to you already?

That sounds preposterous and farfetched right?

For me the idea is not as farfetched as it seems. Recently I found myself in the position of the Ferrari driver with God being the bearer of my gift. All because I kept asking God for something without taking the time to find out what it was.

I was recently crying out to God for the gift of discernment. Diligently seeking His face and crying before His throne day and night “Oh God increase in me your spirit of discernment.” After praying that prayer for quite some time and not getting the response I desired, I decided to fast about it. I figured it was time to kill flesh and strengthen my spirit man as an act of sacrifice and surrender to turn God’s heart and ear toward me. I fasted for two days and still didn’t receive the answer I wanted from God.

I was heart-broken.

Why wasn’t God answering me? What had I done to deserve this silence from Him? Am I no longer in His presence? These were some of the questions plaguing my mind as I tried to come to terms with the fact that I wasn’t hearing from God regarding this new desire on my heart.

As God would ordain it, a few days after my fast I sat with a friend and I began to share with Him my desire to see God increase His gifting in me and my desire for the gift of discernment. As we chatted my friend went into details of what the gift of discernment is and how it works. As I sat drinking in this new information, I was guilt ridden and ashamed when I realized how foolish I had been. It took everything in me to prevent my jaw from dropping when I realized I was asking God for a gift he already gave me and I already used.

I was in awe. In my quest for righteousness I didn’t take the time to research God’s word and understand what I was asking God for. I listened to ministers and other believers speak about the importance of the gift of discernment. I took their brief insight of the gift and presented it to God and waited on an answer.

I took the lazy way out and suffered tremendously for it. Instead of thanking God for what He was doing in my life and learning to appreciate, use and develop my gift I was before the throne of grace petitioning God for something I already had.

As I reflect on this experience I can’t help but wonder how many other things I prayed for or about and got an answer from God without realizing it.

2 Timothy 2:15 instructs us to study to show ourselves approved…… an area I can now admit to falling short in. Thankfully God uses our mistakes and missteps as an instructive tool in correcting our ways and drawing us closer to Him. I’m thankful that I was able to see the foolishness of my ways because it’s taught me a valuable lesson in knowing and understanding what I’m praying for so that my prayers won’t be amiss.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Share your views with us

