Broken Hallelujah: Praising from a difficult place


1 Thessalonians 5 18

1 Thessalonians 5:18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

If I had a dollar for every time I’ve quoted that scripture I’d have a lot of dollars!

1 Thessalonians 5:18 changed my outlook on life and increased my trust in God. Recognizing that everything that happens in my life can only happen because God is allowing it to, has given me a peace that I can’t begin to adequately explain. It’s helped me to look for the good in bad situations and it’s the motivation I need to muster up praise when trials come. It’s allowed me to be in an attitude of expectancy when the enemy starts attacking because I know that something great is in the working. When God doesn’t stop an attack from coming it means that like Job, God knows that this thing is not enough to remove my trust, faith and belief in Him. It has helped me to understand that I’m strong in Christ and the only reason I go through difficult situations and persecution is because I have, in me, the strength to endure and overcome them.

I know all of this sounds fantastic and would make for the perfect motivational speech. It might give the impression that my spirits are always high and that I don’t have moments of brokenness and sorrow. It would probably convince some that I’ve never felt like throwing in the towel. That, my friend, would be the furthest thing from the truth.

I have days when I get up and for reasons unknown to me I feel depressed. I’ve had days when I felt like there’s a brick wall inside my head that stops me from thinking clearly, praising and at times even talking to God. People upset me, situations annoy me and sometimes I wish I had an island I can go to and get away from everyone and everything. That’s when 1 Thessalonians 5:18 helps. In those times of unexplainable depression and frustration when my world comes crashing down around me and nothing seems to be going my way I remember that if these things are happening it’s because God is allowing it and it is His will for my life.

When things are going great it’s very easy for me to sing, dance and offer praises unto God. The problem is finding a way to offer praises unto my Father when I’m surrounded by difficulties and when I feel spiritually weak. In those moments of brokenness my hallelujah comes from a different place. It comes from a place of brokenness but just as The Afters sang in their song Broken Hallelujah, “When all is taken away, don’t let my heart be changed. Let me always sing hallelujah. When I feel afraid, don’t let my hope be erased. Let me always sing hallelujah.”  

I won’t always have the strength or the zeal to worship the way I usually do, but as broken as I feel I will always offer hallelujah unto my father even if it’s a broken one. I believe in Christ and I desire to live by every word written in the bible. His word says that everything that happens in my life is His will for me. If His word says it, I believe it and I will live by it, understanding that it is true.

Your praise may not always come from a joyful place but give it anyway, because as broken as it may seem God deserves it and He will accept it.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Broken Hallelujah: Praising from a difficult place

  1. Thanks for sharing about your challenges. Sometimes life can be one challenge after another. I wonder whether I’m able to bounce up again. Thank God we can, and thank God we are enabled to bounce back. I’m reminded of a post I wrote last month. (http://wp.me/p4cOf8-5v) Perhaps it will show us that God IS able to help!

    Like

Share your views with us

