Dissecting Worship: The Series


music

Colossians 3:16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.

Recently I’ve found myself paying greater attention to what I sing when I worship God; both in my personal time and during corporate worship. What I’ve found is when I move past the melody and harmony of a song and I begin to process what I’m saying the songs ministers to me on a new level. No longer am I enjoying a song because it’s catchy or has a nice sing-along chorus, instead my favorite songs are those that have meaning to me and my relationship with God. It is because of this new encounter I’ve decided to do a series on Worship (musical aspect).

This series will do two things; it will challenge us to listen to a wider range of gospel music across different genres and it will allow us a space to share our thoughts on what we’re examining and what we’d like to examine.

I think here’s the perfect place to make a disclaimer:

I AM IN NO WAY EXAMINING THE AUTHORS, VOCALISTS OR MUSICIANS. I AM IN NO POSITION TO JUDGE ANYONE’S HEART CONDITION AS IT RELATES TO GOD AND I DON’T INTEND TO TRY. I CAN’T SAY A SONG WON’T MINISTER TO SOMEONE BECAUSE THE AUTHOR IS BACK SLID-DEN OR BATTLING WITH SOME ASPECT OF LIFE AND I AM OF THE FIRM BELIEF THAT GOD CAN USE ANYTHING TO TOUCH SOMEONE’S HEART (REMEMBER BALAAM AND THE DONKEY?).

I’m really excited to begin this series and I look forward to the wealth of insight we’ll unveil as we embark on this series. The first song I’m going to evaluate is I Give Myself Away – William McDowell. Have a listen and do some evaluating of your own before I share my thoughts.

Also feel free to share a song you’d like to have dissected and your thoughts on any song in the series as we go forward. I’m looking forward to hearing from you. Send your requests via Facebook, Twitter or email me at testifywithme@gmail.com.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Share your views with us

